World-renowned pipa player Gao Hong will be a guest speaker at the “Healthy Dancing and Joyful Singing” lecture

Jan 27, 2021

Center for Community Services hosts the seminar by world-renowned Pipa player Gao Hong

Gao Hong, a world-renowned pipa player, composer, and the artistic advisor of the Minnesota Huaxing Art Troupe, graduated with outstanding achievements from the Folk Music Department of the Central Conservatory of Music in 1990. She studied under the renowned pipa player and educator, Professor Lin Shicheng, a master of the Pudong School. Gao Hong has performed as a solo pipa player with various orchestras, including the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra in the United States, Heidelberg Philharmonic Orchestra in Germany, Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra in Argentina, China National Traditional Orchestra, Guangdong National Orchestra, Louisville Symphony Orchestra, and the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra.

Over the past twenty years, Gao Hong has been interviewed and featured in numerous newspapers, magazines, radio, and television stations across the United States. She has received nearly 50 awards in the United States. In 2017, she became the first Chinese musician to perform the national anthem during an NBA game for the Minnesota Timberwolves.

Gao Hong is a full-time professor of Chinese instruments at Carleton College, ranked fifth among liberal arts colleges in the United States (also known as “Little Harvard”). Through her dedicated efforts, Carleton College established the first undergraduate music program in the United States that allows Chinese traditional instruments as the primary focus, leading to a Bachelor of Arts degree in American Music. She also serves as the artistic director of the Carleton Chinese Music Ensemble and the World Music Ensemble. Gao Hong is a guest professor at the Central Conservatory of Music, China Conservatory of Music, Tianjin Conservatory of Music, and Hebei Academy of Arts. She is a board member of the American Composers Forum and the Minnesota State Arts Board, as well as a voting member of the Grammy Awards.